Evening of July 2, 2009 and July 3, 2009

Let’s start with just a bit of Basque history.  All the towns/cities have two names – the Spanish name and the Basque name.  San Sebastian is Donostia in Euskara (the Basque language).  Hondarribia is Euskara, with the Spanish name Fuenterrabia. On the roads, all signs have both names listed.  Another interested tidbit about the Basque part of the country – most signs in Spanish have been painted over so only the Basque language signs can be read.  They are ferociously nationalistic.